Founded in 1913, the Castlemaine Art Museum has a unique collection of Australian art, First Nations cultural material and historical artefacts reflecting the early history of the region.
Located on Dja Dja Wurrung Country in the foothills of Liyanganyuk Banyul, Castlemaine Art Museum (CAM) is a leading regional institution in the sphere of bold curation, bringing art and objects from the past and present into multilayered conversations, creating a dynamic, inclusive platform for new voices, community connections, reflections and ideas.
Founded in 1913 through community subscription and located within a heritage-listed art deco building since 1931, CAM houses a nationally significant and unique collection of Australian artworks, including important First Nations cultural material from across Australia and a collection of historical artefacts reflecting the early history of the region. Its permanent art collection is recognised as one of the most important in regional Victoria, with strong emphasis on traditional landscape painting and works by women artists. CAM’s holdings of Tonal Realism paintings are of national significance.
CAM is committed to providing professional exhibition and development opportunities for local artists across Central Victoria. CAM brings together artists and communities of this region and beyond, creating a lively arts institution of national relevance.
Castlemaine Art Museum (CAM) is a company limited by guarantee and is administered in the public interest to collect, preserve and display works of art, to present their history and background and provide community enrichment. CAM’s directors are a combination of directors elected by CAM’s members and directors appointed by the Board. Private trustees own the building and the collection which CAM administers. State and local government support is provided, and the gallery has a strong tradition of support from benefactors, local families, artists and patrons.
Official opening of Gallery and Museum Building by Lord Somers, Governor of Victoria, on 18th April 1931.