Board and Trustee Profiles

Board Members

Helen Symon KC (Chairperson)

Qualifications: BA/LLB (Hons)

Experience: Helen Symon K.C. is one of Australia’s most respected tax litigators with a broader commercial and public law practice. Helen has been a member of not-for-profit boards for more than 20 years and brings extensive experience in governance and fundraising, especially in the arts.

Board Experience: Victorian Women’s Trust, Board Member (1999–2002); Buoyancy Foundation of Victoria, President (1999–2000); The Hunger Project Australia, Chair (2002–2008); Leo Cussen Institute, Chair (2009–2013), Board Member (from 2001); Victorian Bar Ethics Committee, Chair (2013–2016), Member (from 2011); The Australian Art Orchestra, Board Member (2008–2014); Tura New Music, Board Member (2016–2020); Punctum Inc, Chair (2022–2023), Committee Member (from 2016).

Elected Board member since 2022.
Part-time resident of Castlemaine.

Mark Sheppard (Deputy Chairperson)

Qualifications: BEng (Chemical), MPhil (Economics)

Board Experience: Former Director of numerous Australian subsidiary companies of ABN AMRO Bank NV.

Experience: An experienced finance professional with broad international experience. Formerly President and Director of a US financial technology start-up. Prior to that, Managing Director and Head of the Financial Solutions Group at National Australia Bank, Head of Structured Capital Asia Pacific at ABN AMRO NV, and similar roles at The Chase Manhattan Bank since 1986.

Elected Board member since 2022. Previously Board member from 2018-2020. Previously member of the Castlemaine Art Gallery and Historical Museum Revenue Committee.
Resident of the Mount Alexander Shire.

Kieren Naish (Hon. Secretary)

Qualifications: B Com, LLB (Hons) (Melb)

Experience: Since 2005, a barrister specialising in commercial disputes, with a particular focus on construction and engineering litigation. Previously a solicitor at Mallesons Stephen Jaques and an associate at the Supreme Court of Victoria.

Appointed Board member since 2023.
Resident of Castlemaine.

Sarah Liversidge (Hon. Treasurer)

Qualifications: Adv. Dip Accounting, MBA.
Professional Memberships: Member Institute of Public Accountants (MIPA FAFA), Institute of Community Directors (MICDA)

Board Experience: Council of Single Mothers and their Children (November 2020–2022; Treasurer); Celebrate Ageing Ltd (Director); Archie Roach Foundation (Director, Company Secretary 2014–2016).

Experience: Highly experienced Accountant & CFO with expertise in the arts, creative industries and NFP Sector with skills in Digital Systems Advisory, Governance, Business Management, Strategic Development, Operations and SME Coaching.

Appointed Board member since 2022.

Jane Amanda Jean

Qualifications: Bsc Architecture (Queens Uni. Belfast, N Ireland) Grad. Dip. Architecture, (Uni. Of Cambridge, England), M of Philosophy, Asian Art and Architecture (Uni. of Sydney, Australia).

Experience: Amanda Jean is a licensed architect, a sole practitioner. She specializes in cultural heritage and building conservation, focusing on the central goldfields of Victoria. Amanda has worked with national, state and local governments and community organisations on projects such as Buda House and Garden, Castlemaine Art Museum, Ulumbarra Theatre, Bendigo, Central Goldfields Art Gallery redevelopment.

Elected Board member since 2020.
Resident of the Castlemaine region.

Melinda Harper

Experience: Melinda Harper is one of Australia's leading Abstract painters. She has exhibited throughout Australia and overseas, working with many artists and curators over the last 30 years, and was actively involved in an artist run space, Store 5 in Melbourne in the 1990's. In 2015 Melinda had a survey exhibition at Heide Museum of Modern Art. In 2021, she presented 'Melinda Harper in Conversation with the Collection' at CAM.
Melinda currently works at Castlemaine Health as an Aboriginal Project Officer. Here, she works with the local Aboriginal community to ensure Cultural Safety in the Hospital and to identify the health needs of the community. She is also involved in a social enterprise catering service called Murnong Mammas that was set up by Nalderun, employing Aboriginal people in this area.

Elected Board member since 2021.
Resident of the Castlemaine region.

David Hurlston

Qualifications: Bachelor of Arts, Fine Art (RMIT University), Art Curatorial Studies (University of Melbourne)

Board Experience: Onsite Assessment Panel Member of Museums Australia’s ‘Museum Accreditation Program’ (1997–2001); Chair of the Maribyrnong Public Art Advisory Panel (2001–2006); Member of the Stonnington Art Advisory Panel (2014–2016); Advisory Panel Member for the RMIT Design Archives (2016–2020); and a Director on the NETS Victoria Board (2008–2022).

Experience: Before his retirement as the NGV’s Senior Curator of Australian Art in 2022, David Hurlston worked in a range of positions for the Gallery over a period of 30 years. His previous roles include Curator, Australian Art Exhibitions (2002–2007), Program Coordinator (1999–2002) and Access Gallery Curator (1993-–1999). He also developed the concept for NGV Studio, a contemporary exhibition space at NGV Australia, and from 2011 until 2015 coordinated the exhibition program.

Elected Board member since 2023.
Resident of Macedon Ranges Shire.

Rye Senjen

Qualifications: B Sc. (Hons) (Lincoln, NZ), Dip. Asian Languages - Sanskrit (ANU), PhD - Expert Systems/AI (Lincoln, NZ), Ceramics Studies - Dunedin School of Art (NZ)

Experience: Rye is one half of fluxedearth - a collaborative ceramics practice of Rye Senjen and Kirstie Murdoch, based on Dja Dja Wurrung Country in Castlemaine. Before becoming a ceramicist Rye had a corporate career in artificial intelligence, telecommunications strategy and sustainability. She has lead research teams, taught Masters level business ethics and sustainability and has authored reports on environmental issues in the Australian and European Union context.

Appointed Board member since 2023.
Resident of Castlemaine.


George Milford (Trustee)

Fellow, CPA Australia, life-long local resident, retired Financial Controller, trustee/treasurer of several not-for-profit entities. Milford was Mount Alexander Shire Citizen of the Year in 2010. As a practising historian, he was honoured with the “Ray Tonkin Heritage Volunteer Award” by the Heritage Council of Victoria in 2018 for a lifetime of service to the heritage of Harcourt and the goldfields. Hon Treasurer of Castlemaine Art Gallery & Historical Museum 1971-2014, President 1985/86, appointed Trustee 1984.

William Maltby (Trustee)

Maltby is a Justice of the Peace, life-long local resident, current Deputy-Mayor of Mount Alexander Shire Council, and Principal; Maltby Property. Maltby was Mayor; City of Castlemaine 1986 and has served as Captain, Castlemaine Fire Brigade. Board member Volunteer Fire Brigades Victoria, holder of the National Medal and the National Emergency Medal. Committee member of Castlemaine Art Gallery & Historical Museum 1986-2016, appointed Trustee 2002.

Womindjika Woorineen willam bit
Willam Dja Dja Wurrung Balug
Wokuk mung gole-bo-turoi
talkoop mooroopook

Welcome to our homeland,
home of the Dja Dja Wurrung people
we offer you people good spirit.
Uncle Rick Nelson

The Jaara people of the Dja Dja Wurrung are the Custodians of the land and waters on which we live and work. We pay our respects to the Elders past, present and emerging. We extend these same sentiments to all Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander First Nations peoples.

Enter here